Adagio Basses – A Part Of The Anthology Series

Customers' review

0 reviews
Rated 0.00 out of 5 stars

Rated 0.00 out of 5 stars

5 stars 0 0 %
4 stars 0 0 %
3 stars 0 0 %
2 stars 0 0 %
1 star 0 0 %


  • Price: $78
  • Kontakt VST / AU / AAX
  • 11,417 Samples. 7 GB (Compressed)
  • Deep-Sampled Orchestral Basses with Ensemble (4), Chamber (2) & Solo (1)
  • 3 Microphone Positions (Mixed, Close, Far)
  • 5 Expressive Legato articulations
  • Varying types of Short Notes with up to 8 repetitions
  • Custom Browser with Built-In Articulation Matrix
  • Custom Convolution, EQ & other Chaos FX
  • Product only available as Direct Download
  • Previous owners of Anthology are eligible for an upgrade please click HERE for more information.
  • Full Retail Version of Kontakt 5.6 (or later) Required

Listen to the music of Adagio Basses – A Part Of The Anthology Series

Watch the videos of Adagio Basses – A Part Of The Anthology Series

  • Adagio Basses - A Part of the Anthology Series

    Adagio Basses - A Part of the Anthology Series

    This video walks you through the included sounds in Adagio Basses.

  • Adagio Cellos - A Part of the Anthology Series

    Adagio Cellos - A Part of the Anthology Series

    This video walks you through the included sounds in the related library - Adagio Cellos (Not included).

  • Adagio Violins - A Part of the Anthology Series

    Adagio Violins - A Part of the Anthology Series

    This video walks you through the included sounds in the related library - Adagio Violins (Not included).

Adagio Basses – A Part Of The Anthology Series overview

Produced by Academy Award, TEC and G.A.N.G Award Winning Composer, Troels Folmann and Emmy nominated composer and orchestrator, Colin O’Malley, The Adagio String Series is 8Dio’s flagship orchestral collection containing deep-sampled emotional strings and has now been completely updated to be in line with our most recent releases.

Adagio Basses is the final volume to receive the full-scale update completing the Adagio series. The new update brings these iconic instruments up to date with a range of features found in our Century and Anthology series. This update includes our new intuitive user-interface, articulation browser, integrated mixing, and of course our signature Chaos Effects.

The latest Adagio Basses feature an advanced articulation browser which allows you to create your very own matrix of performance styles. You can now easily balance each articulation and assign each style its own control. The new features are all about improving your workflow, so whether you need a single articulation or a range of different playing styles, Adagio lets you load precisely what you need.

The Adagio series was recorded in a lush church environment and contains three main groups of master Bassists; Full Ensemble (4 Players), Small Ensemble or Chamber (2 Players) and a Solo Virtuoso (1 Player). Each section was recorded in incredible detail; we sampled a huge range of articulations including 5 unique legato types, extensive short notes & a range of sordino (muted) options.

Our Adagio series also includes our Chaos Rack Effects, giving you instant access to a 3 Band EQ, Bit-Crusher & Distortion modules, Modulation, Stereo-Delay, and Dual Convolution Reverbs. The Chaos System allows you to transform the sound of Adagio into something entirely new or roll the dice and randomize each Effects Rack with a simple click.

True Emotion

The Adagio series was sampled in immense detail, ensuring all the raw emotion and musical imperfections of each string section were truly captured. Adagio Basses features a comprehensive collection of short notes, including Marcato, Pizzicato, Staccato and varying styles of Spiccato each sampled with up to 8 round-robin repetitions. Adagio Basses continues to take deep sampling to new levels with its 5 styles of legato each modeled after a lyrical melody and wealth of additional articulations that allow you to perform with true authenticity seamlessly.

Adaptable, Intuitive, Effortless

Adagio has been redesigned so that each iconic and expressive instrument can be used out-of-the-box for instantly professional sounding results. We have replaced the original Multis with new legato articulations allowing you to fluidly switch between varying styles of legato. The reorganized articulations also give you direct access to any articulation Adagio has to offer as well as offering independent patches for each articulation so you can easily create your very own Articulation list or custom template to best suit your workflow.


We recorded Adagio Strings with a vast array of expertly placed microphones allowing us to best capture the different perspectives of each ensemble. We created 3 independent mixes for the Adagio series, giving you ultimate flexibility over the sound of your ensemble (Mixed, Close, Far). The Mixed Microphone position offers a beautiful combination of both the Close and Far perspectives, giving you a perfectly balanced sound. The Close Microphone contains a unique set of microphones that were intimately placed to capture the true beauty of each player. Finally, the Far Microphone gives you a uniquely wide perspective option allowing for true surround sound.

Articulation Matrix

All patches within Adagio contain a fully customizable Articulation Matrix. Double-clicking any articulation slot gives you instant access to all further available articulations. The custom Articulation Matrix also allows you to balance each playing style and control their respective key-switch or MIDI CC directly within the browser. No need to load multiple patches across dozens of tracks, Adagio lets you load what you need when you need it.

Ensemble Basses Core:

  • Sustains
  • Legato I
  • Legato II
  • Arc Control
  • Arc Long
  • Tremolo
  • Trills Minor 2nd (half-step)
  • Trills Major 2nd (whole-step)
  • Spiccato Feathered
  • Spiccato Tapped
  • Staccato
  • Marcato
  • Pizzicato
  • Bartok Pizzicato

Ensemble Basses Sordino (Muted):

  • Sustains Muted
  • Legato Muted
  • Arc Control Muted
  • Arc Long Muted
  • Spiccato Muted

Divisi / Chamber Basses:

  • Sustains
  • Legato I
  • Legato II
  • Arc Control
  • Spiccato

Solo Bass:

  • Sustains
  • Legato
  • Spiccato
  • Marcato
  • Pizzicato
  • Full Retail version of Kontakt 5.6+ required / Not compatible with the free Kontakt Player
  • Runs as host or stand-alone application, VST® or Audio Units plug-in, AAX® under Pro Tools
  • Minimum: Intel Core i5 or equivalent CPU. 4 GB of RAM or more is highly recommended. For TMPro Patches, i7 or equivalent is highly recommended.
  • Adagio Basses requires 7 GB of Hard Drive Space
  • Sample resolution: 48Khz / 24Bit stereo .wav, .ncw format
  • Format(s): Kontakt