Adagio Violas – A Part Of The Anthology Series

Customers' review

3 reviews
Rated 5.00 out of 5 stars

Rated 5.00 out of 5 stars

4 stars 0 0 %
3 stars 0 0 %
2 stars 0 0 %
1 star 0 0 %
Thank you 8Dio
by Martin Kühn (02/27/2020)
There are more light than shadow. If you count in the legacy versions, which you get on top from thi...


Rated 5 out of 5 stars


  • Price: $78
  • Kontakt VST / AU / AAX
  • 14,781 Samples. 11.67 GB (Compressed)
  • Deep-Sampled Violas with Ensemble (7), Chamber (3) & Solo (1)
  • 3 Microphone Positions (Mixed, Close, Far)
  • Fluid Velocity Layered Legatos
  • Varying types of Short Notes with up to 8 repetitions
  • Custom Browser with Built-In Articulation Matrix
  • Custom Convolution, EQ & other Chaos FX
  • Product only available as Direct Download
  • Full Retail Version of Kontakt 5.6 (or later) Required
  • Previous owners of Anthology are eligible for an upgrade please click HERE for more information.

Listen to the music of Adagio Violas – A Part Of The Anthology Series

Watch the videos of Adagio Violas – A Part Of The Anthology Series

  • Adagio Violas- A Part of the Anthology Series

    Adagio Violas- A Part of the Anthology Series

    This video walks you through the included sounds in Adagio Violas.

  • Adagio Violins - A Part of the Anthology Series

    Adagio Violins - A Part of the Anthology Series

    This video walks you through the included sounds in the related library - Adagio Violins (Not included).

  • Adagio Violas Vol. 1 Ensemble Short Notes

    Adagio Violas Vol. 1 Ensemble Short Notes

    This video demonstrates the elaborate set of Ensemble Short notes for Adagio Violas (Legacy).

Adagio Violas – A Part Of The Anthology Series overview

Produced by Academy Award, TEC and G.A.N.G Award Winning Composer, Troels Folmann and Emmy nominated composer and orchestrator, Colin O’Malley, The Adagio String Series is 8Dio’s flagship orchestral collection containing deep-sampled emotional strings and has now been completely updated to be in line with our most recent releases.

The Violas are the second volume in our series to receive a complete overhaul, bringing these timeless samples up to date with a range of features found in our Century and Anthology series. This update includes our new intuitive user-interface, articulation browser, integrated mixing, and of course our signature Chaos FX.

The new Violas feature an advanced articulation browser which allows you to create your very own matrix of performance styles. You can now easily balance each articulation and assign each style its own control. The new features are all about improving your workflow, so whether you need a single articulation or a range of different playing styles, Adagio lets you load precisely what you need.

In this latest update, we have scrapped multis and reworked the original eight legatos into various refined, layered legato patches that fluidly adapt as you play them. Each intensity of legato style being triggered dependant on the velocity that you play.

The Adagio series was recorded in a lush church environment and contains three main groups of master Viola players; Full Ensemble (7 Players), Small Ensemble or Chamber (3 Players) and a Solo Virtuoso (1 Player). Each section was recorded in incredible detail; we sampled a huge range of articulations including eight unique legato types with up to three-way round robin repetitions, extensive short notes, a range of sordino (muted) options, and two banks of custom designed ambiences.

Our Adagio series also includes our Chaos Rack Effects, giving you instant access to a 3 Band EQ, Bit-Crusher & Distortion modules, Modulation, Stereo-Delay, and Dual Convolution Reverbs. The Chaos System allows you to transform the sound of Adagio into something entirely different or roll the dice and randomize each Effects Rack with a simple click.

True Emotion

The Adagio series was sampled in immense detail, ensuring all the raw emotion and musical imperfections of each string section were truly captured. Adagio Violas features a comprehensive collection of short notes, including Marcato, Pizzicato, Staccato and varying styles of Spiccato each sampled with up to 8 round-robin repetitions. Adagio Violas continues to take deep sampling to new levels with its 8 styles of layered legato each modeled after a lyrical melody and wealth of additional articulations that allow you to perform with true authenticity seamlessly.

Adaptable, Intuitive, Effortless

Adagio has been redesigned so that each iconic and expressive instrument can be used out-of-the-box for instantly professional sounding results. We have replaced the original Multis with adaptable velocity-sensitive legato articulations that can fluidly switch between varying styles of legato. The reorganized articulations also give you direct access to all the sounds Adagio has to offer as well as providing independent patches for each playing style so you can easily create your very own articulation list or custom template to best suit your workflow.

Articulation Matrix

All patches within Adagio contain a fully customizable Articulation Matrix. Double-clicking any articulation slot gives you instant access to all further available articulations. The custom Articulation Matrix also allows you to balance each playing style and control their respective key-switch or MIDI CC directly within the browser. No need to load multiple patches across dozens of tracks, Adagio lets you load what you need when you need it.


We recorded Adagio Strings with a vast array of expertly placed microphones allowing us to best capture the different perspectives of each ensemble. We created three independent mixes for the Adagio series, giving you ultimate flexibility over the sound of your ensemble (Mixed, Close, Far). The Mixed Microphone position offers a beautiful combination of both the Close and Far perspectives, giving you a perfectly balanced sound. The Close Microphone contains a unique set of microphones that were intimately placed to capture the true beauty of each player. Finally, the Far Microphone gives you a uniquely wide perspective option allowing for true surround sound.


  • Sustains
  • Legato I with Expressive Layering
  • Legato II
  • Arc Control
  • Arc Long
  • Tremolo
  • Trills Minor 2nd (half-step)
  • Trills Major 2nd (whole-step)
  • Spiccato Feathered
  • Spiccato Tapped
  • Staccato
  • Marcato
  • Pizzicato
  • Bartok Pizzicato

Ensemble Sordino (Muted):

  • Sustains Muted
  • Legato Muted with Expressive Layering
  • Arc Control Muted
  • Arc Long Muted
  • Spiccato Muted


  • Sustains
  • Legato I with Expressive Layering
  • Legato II with Expressive Layering
  • Arc Control
  • Spiccato Feathered


  • Sustains
  • Legato
  • Spiccato Feathered
  • Marcato
  • Pizzicato


  • Ambience 1
  • Ambience 2
  • Full Retail version of Kontakt 5.6+ required / Not compatible with the free Kontakt Player
  • Runs as host or stand-alone application, VST® or Audio Units plug-in, AAX® under Pro Tools
  • Minimum: Intel Core i5 or equivalent CPU. 8 GB of RAM or more is highly recommended. For TMPro Patches, i7 or equivalent is highly recommended.
  • Adagio Violas requires 11.67 GB of Hard Drive Space
  • Sample resolution: 48Khz / 24Bit stereo .wav, .ncw format
  • Format(s): Kontakt