Adagio - Violas 2.0

Adagio - Violas 2.0

  • Kontakt VST / AU / AAX
  • 14,781 Samples. 11.8GB
  • Deep-Sampled Violas
  • 3 Section Sizes: Ensemble (7), Chamber (3) & Solo (1)
  • 3 Microphone Positions (Mixed, Close, Far)
  • Fluid Velocity Layered Legatos
  • Varying types of Short Notes with up to 8 repetitions
  • Custom Browser with Built-In Articulation Matrix
  • Custom Convolution, EQ & other Chaos FX
  • Delivered by Download
  • Kontakt 5.8.1 Full Retail (or later) Required

Adagio Violas

The Violas are the second volume in our series to receive a complete overhaul, bringing these timeless samples up to date with a range of features found in our Century and Anthology series. This update includes our new intuitive user-interface, articulation browser, integrated mixing, and of course our signature Chaos FX.

The new Violas feature an advanced articulation browser that allows you to create your very own matrix of performance styles. You can now easily balance each articulation and assign each style its own control. The new features are all about improving your workflow, so whether you need a single articulation or a range of different playing styles, Adagio lets you load precisely what you need.

In this latest update, we have scrapped multis and reworked the original eight legatos into various refined, layered legato patches that fluidly adapt as you play them. Each intensity of legato style being triggered dependant on the velocity that you play.

The Adagio series was recorded in a lush church environment and contains three main groups of master Viola players; Full Ensemble (7 Players), Small Ensemble or Chamber (3 Players) and a Solo Virtuoso (1 Player). Each section was recorded in incredible detail; we sampled a huge range of articulations including eight unique legato types with up to three-way round-robin repetitions, extensive short notes, a range of sordino (muted) options, and two banks of custom designed ambiences.



The New Legatos

We have included 2 distinct Legato types within the update to Adagio, each containing up to 3 responsive layers and 3 round robin repetitions. Legato I is made from our Agitato Strings, inspired by the soaring melodic styles of Williams and Mancini, designed to sit at the front of your orchestrations. Legato II is from our first recording sessions of Adagio and has a much smoother and less pronounced sound, ideal for multipurpose string writing.

Adagio - Violas 2.0

Adaptable, Intuitive, Effortless

Adagio - Violas 2.0

Adagio has been redesigned so that each iconic and expressive instrument can be used out-of-the-box for instantly professional-sounding results. The fully customizable articulation matrix gives you direct access to any articulation Adagio has to offer. We also include independent patches for each articulation, so you can customize the instrument to best suit your workflow.


We recorded Adagio Strings with a vast array of expertly placed microphones allowing us to best capture each ensemble. We created 3 independent mixes, giving you ultimate flexibility over the sound of your ensemble (Mixed, Close, Far). The Mixed Microphone position offers a beautiful combination of both the Close and Far perspectives for a perfectly balanced sound.

Adagio - Violas 2.0




•    Sustains
•    Legato I with Expressive Layering
•    Legato II
•    Arc Control
•    Arc Long
•    Tremolo
•    Trills Minor 2nd (half-step)
•    Trills Major 2nd (whole-step)
•    Spiccato Feathered
•    Spiccato Tapped
•    Staccato
•    Marcato
•    Pizzicato
•    Bartok Pizzicato

Ensemble Sordino (Muted):

•    Sustains Muted
•    Legato Muted with Expressive Layering
•    Arc Control Muted
•    Arc Long Muted
•    Spiccato Muted


•    Sustains
•    Legato I with Expressive Layering
•    Legato II with Expressive Layering
•    Arc Control
•    Spiccato Feathered


•    Sustains
•    Legato
•    Spiccato Feathered
•    Marcato
•    Pizzicato


•    Ambience 1
•    Ambience 2

Anthology/Legacy Owners: 

Important: To all original Adagio owners. We highly recommend keeping your original version of Adagio Violas since projects using them may not continue to work. This update is designed to live side by side with the original Adagio library.

For upgrade details please check your email or get in touch with our support staff via our live chat on or email at


  • Full Retail version of Kontakt 5.8.1 required
  • Not compatible with the free Kontakt Player
  • Minimum: Intel Core i5 or equivalent CPU. 8 GB of RAM or more is highly recommended. For TMPro Patches, i7 or equivalent is highly recommended.
  • Adagio Violas requires 11.67 GB of Hard Drive Space